Week Two

If you enjoy the video, feel free to make a contribution by visiting the “Starving Artist Fund” page via the link to the right.  🙂

Week 2: Black Cloud
By Kim Davidson
(c) 2010

There’s this black cloud a-followin’ me
For miles and miles it’s all that I can see
It’s blocking every ray of sun
Keepin’ me from getting’ things done
This black cloud’s a-followin’ me

There’s this black cloud a-followin’ me
Rainin’ down on all I wanna be
It’s laughin’ at me from above
It’s stealin’ every drop of love
This black cloud’s a-followin’ me

CHORUS: Oh, but I’ve got my umbrella open wide
Faith and determination steady at my side
And I don’t need the sun to make my hay
I will work and sing my song ‘til I have broken through the gray

Oh, there’s this black cloud a-followin’ me
It’s blowin’ cold and rattlin’ the trees
But I refuse to lose my grip
Or go down like sinkin’ ship
‘Cause this black cloud’s a-followin’ me

CHORUS: Oh, but I’ve got my umbrella open wide
Faith and determination steady at my side
And I don’t need the sun to make my hay
I will work and sing my song ‘til I have broken through the gray

Oh, there’s this black cloud a-followin’ me
But I don’t care as long as I am free
I’ll take whatever it can give
No matter what I can live
With this black cloud a-followin’ me
Oh black cloud, stop followin’ me!

So the first tidbit I’m going to share is that when I sat down to write this song, I felt about as much like writing a song as I felt like having a tax audit; that is to say, NOT AT ALL. That’s not necessarily an unusual thing, frankly. The creative whims come and go, which is why typically when the Muse curls up to cuddle with you, you try not to flip her off. Instead you drop everything and frolic. But this is the exception, and not the rule. More often than not, it’s an act of will to sit and chase down an idea you may have jotted down months ago, trying to bring it to some phase of completion. This is even more the case when you’ve given yourself a weekly deadline. Having decided I’d post songs on Fridays, my writing day was decreed to be Tuesday, otherwise known as my day off. This seemed like a perfect idea in the first few lazy days of January, when I was still on a post-holiday high, feeling well-rested and excited for the new adventure. On this particular Tuesday, however, it was not seeming nearly as novel. Not that it was going to stop me.

Sometimes when I write it’s important for me to get out of the house. To get a change of scenery, some fresh air (I am really LOVING the cold lately) and shake myself out of whatever mood I’m in. On this day I went to the Starbucks at Barnes and Noble because they have red velvet cupcakes from The Cheesecake Factory, and that suddenly seemed a crucial component to my ability to write. It wasn’t exactly a miracle cure, surprisingly enough, and even post-cupcake I was downright cranky and really feeling the pressure of my self-imposed deadline. And it’s only week two, I was thinking with despair.

I pulled out my notebook. I had wanted to try and write more positive songs this year, but how could I write a positive song when I was in such a foul state of mind? I recognized that perhaps I couldn’t, and decided I’d have to go with that. Once I allowed myself that freedom, everything immediately got better. I started with this idea of having a black cloud hanging over my head simply because that was how I was feeling at that moment. As I jotted down ideas and rhymes I found a way to turn it around and make it a positive song anyway, and that was kind of exciting. By the time I’d finished I was feeling much better, and relieved that I had been able to accomplish this week’s goal. When I got home I sat and worked out the chords. I did a quick recording so I could listen in the car the next day. I decided to change a few chords in the bridge, and that’s the version that made it to press. By the way, the lyrics are in the “Just the Lyrics” section–link to the right. Check ‘em out if you need to!

2 Responses to “Week Two”

  1. Pete Says:

    Hey! I really dig this song! I am digging the positive vibes in these first two songs! Thought this one might be a moody dirge with that title. And of course, the best thing is that you are keeping up! KEEP GOING!! LOVING IT! The kids dig it too. And I love the out takes as well.

  2. newsongweekly Says:

    Thanks! Guess I should watch my mouth in the outtakes… LOL. I don’t know how to bleep things in post!

Leave a Reply

