One Little Rhyme

While we’re in Revision Land, I decided to make a tiny adjustment to my Timmy Riordan song as well. I liked the challenge of writing a song without any rhymes in it; unfortunately, I feel like the tag line gets kind of lost in the shuffle. Perhaps down the road I’ll find a melody or different supportive structure around it to not need to add a rhyme. For the moment I wanted to try simply rhyming ONE line with the tag line to see if it helped it pop. I think it does. It’s a step in the right direction, at least.

EVEN THE STARS LIE (REVISED)
By Kim Davidson
© 2010

I’m lying here in our bed all alone
And you called to say that you’d be working late
And I’m trying not to let my mind go wanderin’ too far
But this is something I’ve been hiding from for far too long

They’re all piling up the little hints that I’ve ignored
The scent of perfume I don’t wear in the laundry
The phone rings late at night, but there’s no one on the line
Unless the office calls for you to come back in

CHORUS:
Oh it’s so hard to pretend with my intuition screaming
As I stand outside and look up to the stars
And I wonder gazing at the shining lights twinkling above
How many of these glimmers sources died out long ago?
You ask me to trust and to put my faith in you
Against all odds and evidence, well I can try…
But you are just a man… so how can I take you at your word when even the stars lie?

And I can’t go back… to that time of innocence
To that blind belief I always had in you
So I must decide if I can live with less than what was promised
Or trust myself enough to walk away

CHORUS:
And it’s so hard to pretend with my intuition screaming
As I stand outside and look up to the stars
And I wonder gazing at the shining lights twinkling above
How many of these glimmers sources died out long ago?
You ask me to trust and to put my faith in you
Against all odds and evidence, well I can try…
But you are just a man… so how can I take you at your word when even the stars lie?

Leave a Reply

