Save the Puppy!

Well, this is kind of exciting actually. Because this is a songwriting blog, it’s perfectly allowable (according to the powers-that-be, namely ME) to break up the weekly format with a little bit of additional info on any given song at any given time. This week brings my first New Song Weekly revision. Here’s how it went down:

I belong to this songwriting group that meets once a month. I actually haven’t been to a meeting in a few months, but now that NSW is up and running, there’s plenty of stuff for me to bring to the group, so I went to the meeting last weekend and brought “Snow Globe.” I was feeling a little cocky, I admit it. I thought it was a pretty good song and I wasn’t expecting there to be much for anyone to dissect too deeply. But I should have realized the emotional impact the mention of a mere puppy could have.

Oh my God—you would think I’d sacrificed a live puppy then and there! It was ALL about the puppy. WHAT happened to the puppy? Why was this poor little puppy out alone in the cold? It distracted EVERYBODY and there was no getting away from it. My cute little plot device had the completely opposite effect from what I expected. To my credit (yes, I am patting myself on the back here—it’s my blog, I can do that) I immediately recognized that everyone was completely right and I had done the song (and the imaginary puppy) a disservice. I didn’t need to put an innocent little puppy into fake danger. I had written about a snow storm, after all. There was plenty of opportunity to create the scenario that would bring sexy, tow-truck-driving Alejandro back into the mix.

So I mulled it over and retooled the bridge and saved the puppy, and I think it’s definitely a better song and story because of it. There was also some resistance to the word “hot” in the second half of the first verse… it just didn’t quite seem to fit to some people. I’m not one-hundred percent sold on losing it, only because it’s very “me” and very descriptive of the actual, real-life Alejandro, and it’s the artist’s prerogative to take the group’s advice and not utilize it. However, for the sake of argument I thought I’d try a new word on for size. So that’s in there, too. I like it. It grows on me a little more with each listen. We’ll see what happens when I start playing it out live.

What do you guys think? I noticed my listens were way down last week compared to previous weeks. I wonder if distress over the puppy factored in? If so, hopefully you’ll find the new version a more repeat-play-worthy tune. Enjoy!

SNOW GLOBE (REVISED)
By Kim Davidson
(c) 2010

I can smell it coming in the air. The snow that I’ve been waiting for is almost here
As I step outside the office, heading for a local restaurant
I’m alone so I sit at the bar, beside a man so chiseled he could be a movie star
We share a friendly toast, read our menus, deciding what we want

CHORUS: And there atop the bar is a snow globe
Tiny figures walking through a tiny town
Lost in my imagination, I shake it hard and fast
And all the glittered snow starts coming down
And you can laugh if you’re so inclined
But I am in the snow globe in my mind.

The man beside me turns to me and smiles. His name is Alejandro and he’s lived here for a while
But he still has an accent, sexy as his dark brown hair
We talk over dinner and some wine. And when we both walk out, he goes his way, I go mine
But I can’t stop the feeling, there is magic in the air.

CHORUS: And at home on the mantel is a snow globe
Tiny figures walking through a tiny town
Lost in my imagination, I shake it hard and fast
And all the glittered snow starts coming down
And you can laugh if you’re so inclined
But I am in the snow globe in my mind.

I wake up and the world has turned to white. A fluffy blanket covers all that I see far and wide.
So I dig out my car and make my way slowly down the street.
The world is quiet, no one is around. And snow flies at my windshield on its journey to the ground
I’m rejoicing in the cold, in the winter sky between the naked trees

CHORUS: And through the window it looks like the snow globe
Everything is frozen like that tiny town
And in my imagination someone’s turned us on our heads
And all the glittered snow is coming down
And you can laugh if you’re so inclined
But I am in the snow globe in my mind

BRIDGE: Just then a hidden patch of ice throws me off my course
My tires slip and make no claim, braking makes it worse
I steer as best I can, panic making my moves swift
The car is moving sideways til it spins
And slides
And lands
Right in a giant snow drift….

I’m not hurt, but I am stuck for sure.
It’s inconvenient, yes, but not the worst I could endure. So I call AAA, and listen to the radio and wait.
They get there in a half hour or so. And who’s behind the wheel, but dark and sexy Alejandro
And who can really say? Is it coincidence or is it Fate?

CHORUS: And standing in the street feels like the snow globe
Like we’re the tiny figures in that tiny town
And all my sense of reason has been turned upon its head
As all the glittered snow keeps coming down
And you can laugh if you’re so inclined
But I am in the snow globe in my mind.

Leave a Reply

