Week Thirteen

Weight of the World
By Kim Davidson & Nancy Beaudette
(c) 2010

She still believed at nineteen
The blueprint in her mind had lines so straight and clean
A simple list of dreams all the way to the silver screen
At nineteen she still believed

CHORUS: She thought that she’d be flying by now
She’d thought she’d touch the stars and never come back down
No one told her as a little girl
She’d be held down, by the weight of the world

She was losing faith by twenty-nine
It’s a rough climb to the top, she was running out of time
Hollywood’s a young girls town and not inclined to wait
At twenty-nine, she was losing faith

CHORUS: She thought that she’d be flying by now
She’d thought she’d touch the stars and never come back down
No one told her as a little girl
She’d be held down, by the weight of the world

BRIDGE: There’s bills to pay no matter what your dreams
But you’ve gotta go ahead and dream them anyway
At forty-five still going strong, still reaching for the stars
But grounded by the steps that have carried her this far

CHORUS: She thought that she’d be flying by now
She’d thought she’d touch the stars and never come back down
No one told her as a little girl
She’d be held down, by the weight of the world

Well, this was definitely a different adventure, and I hope you enjoyed the fruits of our labor. Co-writing is a strange monkey. Writing a song by yourself is challenging enough… then add another person to the equation. It can go either way. Luckily Nancy and I were already fans of each other’s writing. That’s always a good start. After that I think the biggest thing you need is trust. And an open mind. I mean, you’re both going to come to the table with ideas, and handing them over to the other person can be scary. You need to feel completely confident in that other person’s ability to take what you’re offering and treat it well. I knew with Nancy that I’d be perfectly okay.

I’ve co-written exactly three times in my life, including this time. Once was a spur-of-the-moment thing with a friend when we were snowed in and needed something to pass the time. The other time was a planned regular event with another friend, where we got together weekly for about a month, trying to create something together. We never did finish the one song we started, as it turns out. And the moral of that story is that no matter how much you like someone and respect their talent, it doesn’t mean you’ll be creatively matched as writers—even if you really want it to happen.

So there was no way to know how things would ultimately go this week. And the pressure was on. Nancy doesn’t exactly live near me, so it wasn’t like we were going to get together over the course of three consecutive nights or anything. We had Tuesday afternoon and that was pretty much it. But we were both prepared, and that makes a big difference. I’d had a lyric idea pop into my head on the way over (on top of other ideas I had at the ready), and Nancy had been working on a melody for the past couple days. She played it for me, and even though initially I’d thought “Weight of the World” as it first came to me would have a more upbeat groove, her melody spoke to me and completely changed my mind.

We spent the afternoon working and honing and it wasn’t long before we had a finished song. It may actually have been the quickest start-to-finish song in the whole NSW collection.

The taping was hilarious. We actually did make a recording on Tuesday when I was there, but I hadn’t thought ahead about that unfortunately, and so I looked completely sloppy. When I got home and watched the recording I just couldn’t live with it. So I went back Friday night (all dolled up) to decorate some Easter eggs, and we retaped the song and I’m glad we did. It was a total blast to have a few other people on hand to give us some energy, and it made the whole experience. Usually it’s just me, so I really loved having other people to play off of. I’m sure some additional guest stars will be part of future installments.

By the way, due to the lateness of the hour (or the earliness, depending on your point of view) I completely forgot to include a link to Nancy’s website in the video credits while I was hastily editing and uploading. So here it is for all those who wish to find out more about her (which you should definitely do!): www.nancybeaudette.com.

Meanwhile, be sure to check back later today for a special First Quarter Wrap-Up surprise!

One Response to “Week Thirteen”

  1. Ken Says:

    hard-hitting, soul crushing song.. good though

Leave a Reply

