Week Sixteen

These Forty Years
By Kim Davidson
© 2010

Ain’t got nothing in the bank, hell the account’s been closed
Five bucks in my wallet ‘til I get paid
I’m down, I’m close to out, and I’m feelin’ old
Couldn’t say the last time I got laid

Feels like forever I’ve been standing still
Hard to hold onto any strength of will

CHORUS: I’ve got a hungry heart and a restless mind
Still a lot of things to learn
And I could die looking and never find
What’s making my soul burn
I’ve gotten real good at laughing through my tears
That’s what I’ve got to show for these forty years

I’m bad with money, unlucky in love
A beat-up car is about all I own
But in the grand scheme I’ve got wealth enough
Got family and friends and a place to call home

Wish that I could say I’m satisfied
Wish I had more to show for all I’ve tried

CHORUS: I’ve got a hungry heart and a restless mind
Still a lot of things to learn
And I could die looking and never find
What’s making my soul burn
I’ve gotten real good at laughing through my tears
That’s what I’ve got to show for these forty years

BRIDGE: Dreams don’t sparkle like they used to do
When I was young
I’ve got to find a purpose to keep pushing through
‘Cause this life is only half done…

CHORUS: I’ve got a hungry heart and a restless mind
Still a lot of things to learn
And I could die looking and never find
What’s making my soul burn
I’ve gotten real good at laughing through my tears
That’s what I’ve got to show for these forty years

So the theme of New Song Weekly these days seems to be “get one week ahead, and then have something delay that song being posted when its turn comes, and scramble to write another song.” That’s what happened with last week’s song two weeks ago. And that’s what happened with what will now be NEXT week’s song THIS week. In the grand scheme, it’s not really that big a deal. I mean, ultimately I’ve got to write a song each week regardless. It’s just that knowing you already have a song to post makes it less “urgent” while you’re writing the next song. When all of a sudden it has to be that week’s song, the pressure is a little heftier. And there’s less time to rethink and hone if you choose to.

But no matter, that’s the way things go sometimes. I think next week’s video will be worth the wait. In the meantime, this week I had another eleventh hour song to write, and so I stayed pretty close to home with it. By the way, if anyone ever wonders why my songs aren’t taking over the country radio airwaves, it’s because of lines like “couldn’t say the last time I got laid.” Sara Evans would never sing that. Meanwhile, I’d fight to the death for that line. Is there a better way to put it? I mean, honestly? Sometimes ya just wanna put it out there—blunt and direct and non-poetic. Maybe it’s just me. 🙂

Leave a Reply

