Week Seventeen

It’s Been a Long Time
By Kim Davidson
(c) 2010

Four-fifteen a.m., sleep’s not even in the corner of my eye
Guess I’ll greet the sun again, before I lay down and die
It’s been a long time since anyone’s been there to ask “Are you coming to bed?”
It’s been a long time since anyone’s cared where I lay my head…

I close my eyes, birds start their chirping, I can set my watch by them
My whole body sighs, as the vicious circle swings around once again
It’s been a long time since anyone’s whispered “It’s all gonna be all right.”
It’s been a long time since anyone’s been there to hold me through the night…

CHORUS: And then sleep takes me down to her deep red room
Where I swim through the tide of contentment
Past the cold, hollow chamber of regrets and might-have-beens
Past the sharp, steep edge of resentment

Two p.m., I swat at the alarm until the chimes fade
Embrace delirium, It’s easier to face than the mess that I have made
It’s been a long time since there’s been anyone to answer to
It’s been a long time since there’s been anyone to ask what I should do

CHORUS: And then sleep takes me down to her deep red room
Where I swim through the tide of contentment
Past the cold, hollow chamber of regrets and might-have-beens
Past the sharp, steep edge of resentment

Midnight… I’ve been to work, I’ve come back home, the TV joins me for dinner
I’ve misplaced my fight, the days bleed into years and I no longer care just who’s declared the winner
It’s been a long time since anything’s happened so maybe I could believe
It’s been a long time since anything’s meant enough that losing it would make me grieve

CHORUS: And then sleep takes me down to her deep red room
Where I swim through the tide of contentment
Past the cold, hollow chamber of regrets and might-have-beens
Past the sharp, steep edge of resentment
To a memory of you… to a memory of you…

So in case you can’t tell from the outtakes, this week’s video was a complete blast to shoot.

This song was actually ready to go two weeks ago. It was of the variety that came to me sort of out of nowhere, after I’d already written a song for the week, and it was pretty much inspired by my actual lifestyle and my complete frustration one morning that I was heading to bed with the birds chirping their heads off, yet again. In my defense, the damn birds start at like 2:00 in the morning, which is not all that late for a musician. At any rate, the song came to me and I thought, “Woo-hoo, I’m a week ahead!” And then for whatever reason I started to see this song visually, as a real music video, versus just a quick couple shots of me playing it for posterity. Images kept coming to me and I decided that it would go along with my desire to keep things from getting stale, and so I made plans to shoot a video.

The timeline got delayed by another week, so once again I lost my week-ahead advantage, but it was worth it to be able to get all the things I wanted; and what I wanted was to shoot at my friends’ Vivian and Louis’ place, and to have Jeff Gaynor add some keys to spice it up a bit.

What had me thinking of adding keys was again a visual cue… Viv and Louis have a piano in their house, and I thought it would fit into the video nicely. And if it was going to be seen, I decided it should be heard. Jeff is amazing—he plays with everybody, which is how I know him, because nine times out of ten if I go to see someone I know play, he’s on stage with them. I was totally stoked when he agreed to lay down a little embellishment for the track. And hey, speaking of that… yes, I had to record a separate track to sing along with, kinda like how I used to do things when NSW first started up last year, only way more complicated. There were a variety of mixes that hit my iPod in the past couple weeks (I find the best speakers in my world are in my car), and it was quite a few tries before I was happy. Tom Eaton can rest easy. Recording and mixing are not things I can do on my own without quite a lot of headaches along the way. I’m under-equipped and under-informed, and in the end I’d rather leave it to the pros when I can. This was just a quick little thing though, and certainly not something I could spend money on, so I had to wing it. I think it came out pretty good all things considered.

When I started thinking of the type of story I wanted to tell, I knew immediately that I would need a guy to use in flashbacks of this failed relationship. I also knew I wanted a nice locale that was homey, but had some character, and could fill all the requirements of the shoot. Viv and Louis were my first choice, since I’d worked with them before and they are both crazy and fun-loving and encourage all my antics. I shot the photos that will appear in the “Free Therapy” liner notes at their place. And I also used Louis for a shot then (as well as Vivian). I’d originally had another guy lined up, but that guy bailed and Vivian is not above lending me her husband for such things, which really works out well for me. LOL. So it just was comfortable and familiar and something we knew we’d all be laughing about the whole time, and that’s exactly what happened. They’re both really good sports.

It was a lot of fun to get all the story shots, of course. More challenging for me were the vocal-syncing shots. The fireplace shots were particularly challenging because the fire was loud, and the CD player wasn’t, so it was hard to hear the track, which is a little bit crucial when you’re trying to match the timing. The other close-ups I did at home, and they were easier, but still challenging, because no matter how much you sing along (you’re always supposed to actually sing, and not just mouth the words), you can still look like a Godzilla movie in the end, even if it’s just in spots. Ideally you get enough footage to weave it all together and have a track that looks pretty spot on. I got a pretty decent one here. There are definitely some spots that are rougher than others, but given the timeline, the equipment, my sleep deprivation from a killer week at work covering for someone who is on vacation… I’m pretty proud of what I accomplished.

I hope you guys enjoy it! I might have more to blog about in another day or two. Right now I’ve been up for about 20 hours and I need to sleep because tomorrow I work and then have a gig. And it’s already 4:00 a.m. Yup… those damn birds are chirping away!

Leave a Reply

