Week Eighteen

With You I’d Have It All
Kim Davidson
© 2010

It’s funny the things that pop into your head at a moment like this
When the world seems to stop, and you know that you’ve just had your last first kiss
And all that you thought you wanted or needed to do
Suddenly doesn’t mean a fraction of what it used to

I’ve always been a free spirit, never wanted to tie myself down
Wasn’t lookin’ for marriage or babies or waitin’ to be found
I’ve searched the world over for meaning and purpose and something to make me feel whole
Never expecting that you’d be the thing that would fill up my soul

CHORUS:
And I’ve stood before the Taj Mahal, been to Paris, Spain and Rome and seen China’s Great Wall
Now I’m thinking that I could settle down, plant roots and make a home, and with you I’d have it all

It’s funny that words like “let’s take it slow” don’t mean a damn thing
I’m dreamin’ of China and dresses and flowers; you’re shoppin’ for a ring
I don’t know who I am anymore, but it’s not who I was
But I’m happy to leave “me” behind to become part of “us”

CHORUS:
And I’ve stood before the Taj Mahal, been to Paris, Spain and Rome and seen China’s Great Wall
Now I’m thinking that I could settle down, plant roots and make a home, and with you I’d have it all

BRIDGE: It’s a great, big, lonely world out there, but it never bothered me
It’s like not knowing you’re blind ‘til you can finally see

CHORUS:
And I’ve stood before the Taj Mahal, been to Paris, Spain and Rome and seen China’s Great Wall
Now I’m thinking that I could settle down, plant roots and make a home, and with you I’d have it all

This week’s song started with a rhythm and a chord progression. Which is unusual for me. Usually–almost always–I get lyrics first, and sometimes lyrics WITH a melody at the same time. This time I just kinda got this groove… and it fell into a chord progression, and I started trying to figure out what to do with it.

I’d been heading for a totally different type of song when I started. But I couldn’t really find any words that seemed to fit what I’d played. I thought of just saving the music for later, but then I got this chorus idea. It didn’t fit the music exactly, but with some minor tweaking it worked, and that was the jumping off point.

Initially I had the chorus from the opposite perspective, with the character saying she’d never been to the Taj Mahal, etc. But I couldn’t find a way to reconcile the rest of the idea from there. So I changed it and then it flowed a bit more easily.

There’s a lot about this one that I’m really happy with. I actually feel like this song has hit potential, which is why there’s also a lot about this song that I’m not happy with. I made some revisions between the first draft and the video version, but I feel like there will be more tweaking over time. It’s not quite there yet, in my opinion. It’s okay though. It’s a good first draft, and that’s what this project is all about.

The vocals are not my best–I’m gonna own that right now. I could have done a few more takes of this and gotten a better recording, I’m sure. In the end I decided that my sanity (and my sister’s sanity) were more important than nailing that first note in the chorus every time. I know I can do it, and that’s all that matters.

Leave a Reply

