Week Nineteen

I WANT IT NOW
By Kim Davidson
© 2010

Ah, ah-ah-ah, ah-ah-ah.
Oh it’s makin’ me crazy
All the things that I don’t have
Watching everybody zip by to a place in the future, while I stay in the past
And it’s so close… what I need to get in line
One last piece of the puzzle and I’ll be golden, I’ll be fine
Oh-oh, I’ve never been much for patience, I’m a lot less breeze than gale
Never waiting for the ducks to line up might be my epic fail

CHORUS: So I close my eyes, grab on with both hands, hanging off the back of a speeding train headed
who knows where–‘cause anything’s better than here
And all my learnin’s done the hard way, sometimes two or three times before it’s clear, and I scramble
for a foothold, trying to outrun fear
All these things that I can taste, before there’s time for me to be replaced
I want it now. I want it now. I want it now.
I want it now. I want it now. I want it now.

Ah, ah-ah-ah, ah-ah-ah.
Oh you’re makin’ me crazy
Always tryin’ to talk me down
Urging me to take a step back and think, but I’m a verb and not a noun
It’s so tired… all your logic and your lists
I run on adrenaline and heart, and all I need is this
Oh-oh, I’ve never been one for holding, I prefer to play my hand
Never gonna settle for less than all that I demand

CHORUS: So I close my eyes, grab on with both hands, hanging off the back of a speeding train headed
who knows where–‘cause anything’s better than here
And all my learnin’s done the hard way, sometimes two or three times before it’s clear, and I scramble
for a foothold, trying to outrun fear
All these things that I can taste, before there’s time for me to be replaced
I want it now. I want it now. I want it now.
I want it now. I want it now. I want it now.

Oh-oh, I’ve never been one for looking, I just cross my heart and leap
Once you know that you can swim, there’s no water too deep

CHORUS: So I close my eyes, grab on with both hands, hanging off the back of a speeding train headed
who knows where–‘cause anything’s better than here
And all my learnin’s done the hard way, sometimes two or three times before it’s clear, and I scramble
for a foothold, trying to outrun fear
All these things that I can taste, before there’s time for me to be replaced
I want it now. I want it now. I want it now.
I want it now. I want it now. I want it now.

I don’t quite know what to say about this week’s song. Every once in a while I have this bubble-gum pop attack, and I think it kinda came out this week. Certainly once I decided to put “epic fail” in the lyrics I’d jumped over the edge. LOL.

What I’ve been noticing over the past few months of this project is that there are habits that emerge which I follow unwittingly. Like writing songs in a similar key or key position (the actual key may change with the help of a capo, but the chord positions and changes remain the same). My friend Beth DeSombre posted about this in her own blog recently, and I can definitely relate to that. I feel like I’ve fallen into that a bit with many of the songs I’ve written this year. I’ve tried to challenge myself to at least turn the progression around where I can, so it’s not exactly the same as another song, but sometimes it doesn’t quite work out.

There have also been some similar themes I’ve noticed cropping up. I guess sometimes it takes more than one song to sift through the complicated emotions of a given issue. Or sometimes it takes more than one try to get the best song out about whatever the given subject matter may be.

This week I guess there was a part of me thinking “write anything as long as it’s DIFFERENT.” So this is what came out. I think it’s definitely different from what I typically write, and that is exciting to me. Even though largely in the world of commercial songwriting you’re best to put yourself into a pretty narrow box, to specialize, and hone your craft within whatever genre parameters you’re writing for, I do like switching genres just for fun. I mean, am I gonna play this one out alongside something like “Still In Love” or “All These Things?” Probably not. Meanwhile, if Miley Cyrus calls, she’s welcome to it as long as I get the writer’s AND the publisher’s share.

Leave a Reply

