Week Twenty-Five

Taking a Stand
By Kim Davidson
(c) 2010

I gave you the sun, you said “Where’s the moon?”
Whatever it was, it was always the wrong move.
And I crossed my heart, and I hoped you’d fly
And leave me here on the ground, waving goodbye…

CHORUS: We had a good run and I wish you well, but I can’t, I just can’t anymore
I’m not your mirror or conscience, and you are not mine, I don’t care where you’ve walked before
I’m done haggling for blame and holding back everything so you have a soft place to land
And in case you missed it, while you’re stuck on yourself, this is me taking a stand

So look in my eyes now, what do you see?
Look past your reflection and you might find me
Do you know you don’t know me, or love me at all?
Do you know that you’ll never again make me feel small?

CHORUS: We had a good run and I wish you well, but I can’t, I just can’t anymore
I’m not your mirror or conscience, and you are not mine, I don’t care where you’ve walked before
I’m done haggling for blame and holding back everything so you have a soft place to land
And in case you missed it, while you’re stuck on yourself, this is me taking a stand

BRIDGE: Let the accusations fly, I know that you’re frustrated losing control
I’ll try not to laugh at how stupid it sounds now that I’ve stopped playing my role
All that you want now is for me to beg on my knees, to apologize to you
Well I’m sorry you think you deserve that–that’s the best I can do

CHORUS: We had a good run and I wish you well, but I can’t, I just can’t anymore
I’m not your mirror or conscience, and you are not mine, I don’t care where you’ve walked before
I’m done haggling for blame and holding back everything so you have a soft place to land
And in case you missed it, while you’re stuck on yourself, this is me taking a stand

It’s been a busy and emotional couple of weeks. I’m not really going to get into it, but let’s just say that as I was scrambling yet again for a song to post, most of what had been pent up came out on the page.

I was inspired by a song from an episode of “The Vampire Diaries,” which I just started watching with my sister. The song was “All We Are” by Matt Nathanson, and the lines that grabbed me while it was playing in the background of this one particular episode were “I tasted, tasted love so sweet/And all of it was lost on me.” I thought that was such a beautiful turn of phrase, and I so got it in the moment I heard it. My song has nothing to do with this song, but it was the song that got the wheels turning when I was kind of starving for something to write about.

My Tuesday writing routine has been a bit disturbed the past few weeks, so I’ve been flying a lot more by the seat of my pants (as you might have guessed with another late post, though not nearly as late as Week 23 was). With that being the case, it was a gift to have another song spurn me into action and have me churning out a song of my own in nearly record time. The ones closest to my own emotional experiences tend to be that way. I don’t know if they’re better or worse than other songs I write; I just know they’re faster.

In listening to this one again, I feel like it could maybe use another four lines of verse before the first chorus. Maybe. It feels like it jumps so quickly into the chorus, and it’s such high energy… I’m not sure it works as it is. But I’ll have to let it sit a bit and revisit before I really know.

I’ve been getting back in touch with my old Broadway voice lately. I watched the first season of “Glee” online and I’m sure that’s a big part of why, in addition to just wanting to cultivate my upper register mix a bit more. So that’s evident in the chorus as I’m singing. Again, I’m always just a tad inhibited at home while recording, so it’s not all it could be, but it’s definitely a different sound than some of my older recordings.

How cool is that plane sound that comes in at the end? I couldn’t have planned that with better timing, I’m sure. Mostly having the windows open is a bad idea when recording–for exactly this reason–but in this case it was an apt effect, I thought. At any rate, I wasn’t going to do it again. I kind of just needed to get this one out. I had two false starts and then one complete take, and that’s what’s posted.

So that’s Week 25.

One Response to “Week Twenty-Five”

  1. Kristen Says:

    OMG – I’m so mad that you commented on the plane thing in the blog, cause I so loved that happy accident when I got to the end of the song and wanted to be the one to point it out. I swear, it was like the plane was saying, “Adios sucker!” LOL

    Loved this lyric: And in case you missed it, while you’re stuck on yourself, this is me taking a stand

Leave a Reply

