It Gets Better

Hey there my long lost friends! Have you missed me? I’ve missed you! I honestly thought that I’d be way back into the swing of things by now, but it has just not panned out. I’m so proud of myself for making it halfway through the year though, and as much as I’d have loved to have pushed through for all 52 weeks, I will not allow myself to view what I HAVE accomplished as anything less than a triumph. I wrote 28 songs this year! Who cares if Tim Riordan did that in February alone? LOL.

Actually, I wrote 29 songs this year if you include the one that I’m posting now. It seems fitting that I was brought out of the whirlwind of my life for the sake of writing THIS particular song, because it was written in support of such an important cause: the It Gets Better Project, which is part of The Trevor Project.

Like so many of us I have been heartbroken to hear of all the teen suicides that have happened in recent months. I have had a pretty easy time of things in my life, and I cannot imagine how horrible it must be to go through each day being harassed by people just for being yourself. I know that I THOUGHT my life was rough in my teen years WITHOUT that kind of pressure. My heart goes out to the families of those who took their own lives, and to all those who continue to suffer, wishing and waiting for it all to go away.

I have been moved and proud of the videos I have watched by people like Tim Gunn, Kathy Griffin, Mary Gauthier and Joel Burns just to name a few. I was inspired to create my own video message, to become part of the collective standing behind the LGBTQI community during this chaotic time in our nation’s history. As I was contemplating what I would say, I realized that I needed to write a song. After all, that is what I do. Once that idea occurred to me, the song came pretty quickly. That’s usually a good sign. I had a gig earlier this evening where I played the song live for the first time, to test the waters so to speak. The response was amazing, and I came right home and recorded my video. I hope you enjoy it. I hope it inspires you to make your own video in support of this important cause.

I love the story behind The Trevor Project. It all began with a group of filmmakers who created a film about a suicidal gay teen. As the movie was being prepped to air on HBO they decided they wanted to include a hotline that could be shown on screen during broadcast, for any teens that found themselves in similar circumstances and needed help. What they discovered was that no such hotline existed. So they created one. They founded The Trevor Project and The Trevor Lifeline, “the first and only nationwide, around-the-clock crisis and suicide prevention lifeline for lesbian, gay, bisexual, transgender and questioning youth.” Isn’t that amazing? I love it.

So please take a few minutes to check out the video and the song. If you’re moved to share it, please do. And if you’re one of the many people out there feeling helpless and alone, please know that you are NOT alone. And help is available. Check out www.theTrevorProject.org for more info.

One Response to “It Gets Better”

  1. Barbara Minchello Says:

    Hi Kim,
    That is a beautiful song and so true, I really hope that it gets out there to everyone, there are so many kids in those situations that it is scary. I work in a high school and see and hear so many things that my heart breaks sometimes. It is nice to know that someone cares about them enough to start an organization so they don’t feel so alone in this cruel world.

Leave a Reply

